This short walk provides an insight into not only the history of Murchison, but is an ideal way to enjoy nature and the river while staying close to shops
- Meteorite park is dedicated to a meteorite that fell over Murchison on the 28 September 1969. Fragments of the meteorite are on display in museums around the world with the meteorite estimated to be 4.6 billion years old.
- Murchison Heritage Centre. Located at the side of the Heritage Centre is a large pump, similar to the one used to pump water from the river for the first public funded irrigation scheme in Australia.
- Goulburn River at Murchison saw its first paddle steamer in 1875. At that time Murchison had six hotels, two flour mills and numerous stores and services.
- River bank gardens, boardwalk and information lecterns. Discover Murchison’s bygone era with images of the old streetscape, pub and paddle steamers. The boardwalk provides an impressive view of the Goulburn river.
- Bills Water Trough and information lectern.
- Head over the bridge to Gregory’s Bridge Hotel. Built between 1865 and 1868, then known as Thorne’s Bridge Hotel, it was a substantial country hotel, large general store and cellar with stables at the rear. The tree located out the front was planted in 1916 and is one of Victoria’s finest and largest London plane trees and is listed on the Victorian Heritage Register. This property is now a private residence.